Brew Day Just Got a Little Sweeter

Yesterday was a Brew Day at our house.  Today there’s a batch of Bourbon Barrel Porter happily fermenting in corner of my living room.  There are also several dozen beer cookies resting happily in my kitchen.  I’ve been aware of the concept of baking with the leftover grain from the brew process (called spent grain*) for some time now, but this was my first attempt at it.  The cookies are soft and have sort of a nutty oatmeal taste about them.  Definitely not your traditional chocolate chip cookies; they remind me more of a breakfast/energy bar.  A delicious breakfast/energy bar, that is.  Find the recipe here.

Over the course of the next several months I have decided to try a different recipe for each batch of beer brewed.  Next up . . . Beer Granola!

*Must know more about this mysterious spent grain thing?  Here’s a nice succinct explanation, and another with a little more detail

Leave a comment